Blog Post FBA

FBA Announces 2016-17 Postseason Bowl Schedule

41-Game Slate to Begin December 17

and conclude with CFP Championship Game January 9

            Forty-one postseason college football bowl games highlight this year’s “bowl season” with appealing matchups throughout the middle of December onward.

            The Gildan New Mexico Bowl kicks off the schedule on Saturday, December 17 when New Mexico takes on UT San Antonio.  Five games take place on the opening weekend of postseason play.

            Pittsburgh, which beat CFP participant Clemson, meets Northwestern in the New Era Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium on Wednesday, December 28. 

            Stanford, with Heisman Trophy candidate Christian McCaffrey, travels to the Hyundai Sun Bowl for a matchup against North Carolina.  That game takes place in El Paso, TX on Friday, December 30.

            The Valero Alamo Bowl matches Oklahoma State of the Big 12 against Colorado, which represented the Pac-12 in that conference’s championship game after winning the Pac-12 South Division.  This game falls on Thursday, December 29, from the Alamodome in San Antonio, TX.

            Michigan will face Florida State in the Capital One Orange Bowl in a prime time contest scheduled for Friday, December 30. 

            Other late-year pairings include Group of 5 representative Western Michigan taking on Wisconsin in the January 2 Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic; Auburn colliding with Oklahoma in the Allstate Sugar Bowl, also on January 2, as is an Outback Bowl hookup between Florida and Iowa.

            The entire 2016-17 schedule:


Date Game Teams Time [ET]/TV
December 17 Gildan New Mexico Bowl UTSA vs New Mexico 2:00 p.m./ESPN
  Las Vegas Bowl SDSU vs Houston 3:30 p.m./ABC
  Raycom Media Camellia Bowl Toledo vs Appalachian State 5:30 p.m./ESPN
  AutoNation Cure Bowl Arkansas State vs UCF 5:30 p.m./CBSSN
  R+L Carriers NO Bowl Southern Miss vs Louisiana-Lafayette 9:00 p.m./ESPN
December 19 Miami Beach Bowl Tulsa vs Central Michigan 2:30 p.m./ESPN
December 20 Boca Raton Bowl WKU vs Memphis 7:00 p.m./ESPN
December 21 SDCCU Poinsettia Bowl BYU vs Wyoming 9:00 p.m./ESPN
December 22 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Colorado State vs Idaho 7:00 p.m./ESPN
December 23 Popeyes Bahamas Bowl Old Dominion vs E. Michigan 1:00 p.m./ESPN
  Armed Forces Bowl Louisiana Tech vs Navy 4:30 p.m./ESPN
  Dollar General Bowl Troy vs Ohio 8:00 p.m./ESPN
December 24 Hawai’i Bowl Middle Tennessee vs. Hawai’i 8:00 p.m./ESPN
December 26 St. Petersburg Bowl Miss State vs Miami (OH) 11:00 a.m./ESPN
  Quick Lane Bowl Boston College vs Maryland 2:30 p.m./ESPN
  Camping World Independence Bowl Vanderbilt vs NC State 5:00 p.m./ESPN
December 27 Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl North Texas vs Army 12 noon/ESPN
  Military Bowl Temple vs Wake Forest 3:30 p.m./ESPN
  National General Holiday Bowl Washington State vs Minnesota 7:00 p.m./ESPN
  Motel 6 Cactus Bowl Boise State v Baylor 10:15 p.m./ESPN
December 28 New Era Pinstripe Bowl Pittsburgh vs Northwestern 2:00 p.m./ESPN
  Russell Athletic Bowl West Virginia vs Miami 5:30 p.m./ESPN
  Foster Farms Bowl Utah vs Indiana 8:30 p.m./FOX
  AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl Kansas State vs Texas A&M 9:00 p.m./ESPN
December 29 Birmingham Bowl South Carolina vs South Florida 2:00 p.m./ESPN
  Belk Bowl Virginia Tech vs Arkansas 5:30 p.m./ESPN
  Valero Alamo Bowl Oklahoma State vs Colorado 9:00 p.m./ESPN
December 30 AutoZone Liberty Bowl TCU vs Georgia 12 noon/ESPN
  Hyundai Sun Bowl Stanford vs North Carolina 2:00 p.m./CBS
  NOVA Arizona Bowl South Alabama vs Air Force 5:30 p.m./CI
  Franklin American Music City Bowl Nebraska vs Tennessee 3:30 p.m./ESPN
  Capital One Orange Bowl Michigan vs Florida State 8:00 p.m./ESPN
December 31 Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl LSU vs Louisville 11:00 a.m./ABC
  TaxSlayer Bowl Georgia Tech vs Kentucky 11:00 a.m./ESPN
  Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Alabama vs Washington 3:00 p.m./ESPN
  PlayStation Fiesta Bowl Clemson vs Ohio State 7:00 p.m./ESPN
January 2 Outback Bowl Iowa vs Florida 1:00 p.m./ABC
  Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic Western Michigan vs Wisconsin 1:00 p.m./ESPN
  Rose Bowl USC vs Penn State 5:00 p.m./ESPN
  Allstate Sugar Bowl Auburn vs Oklahoma 8:30 p.m./ESPN
January 9 CFP National Championship TBD 8:30 p.m./ESPN