Blog Post FBA

Former Texas Head Coach and Current ESPN Commentator Mack Brown to Address Second Session of FBA Annual Meeting

            Former North Carolina and Texas head coach Mack Brown will address Executive Directors and other personnel representing the Football Bowl Association’s 40 games, it was announced today by FBA Executive Director Wright Waters.

            Brown’s remarks will be heard by the collective FBA membership on Thursday, April 19, the second day of the FBA’s 3-day annual meeting in San Antonio, TX.

            Brown joined ESPN in 2014 as a college football studio analyst on College Football Countdown.  He is also a game analyst on ESPN’s Friday evening college football package.

            “Mack Brown was and is among the greatest college coaches of all time,” Waters said.  “Now that he has transitioned from coaching to broadcasting, his game insights are available to the millions of fans who follow college football on ESPN.”

            Brown was a college football head coach from the mid-1980s through 2013.  His tenure includes assignments at Appalachian State [1983], Tulane [1985-87], North Carolina [1988-97] and Texas [1998-2013].

            His success in Chapel Hill [69-46-1] vaulted Brown into one of the sport’s premiere spotlight destinations:  coaching the Longhorns for 16 seasons and compiling a 158-48 won-lost record.

            His Longhorns won the national championship in 2005, defeating USC in one of college football’s greatest games ever.  Texas played for the national title again in 2009 against Alabama.  In each of those years, Brown was named Big 12 Coach of the Year.

            Texas played in bowl games in 15 of Brown’s 16 seasons, with a 10-5 overall mark in postseason competition.

            From 2001-09, the Longhorns recorded double-digit wins nine consecutive seasons.  Texas went undefeated in 2005, and in three other years had just a single defeat.

            Through 30 seasons as a head coach, Brown amassed an overall record of 244-122-1 with 21 bowl appearances in all.